Nonfiction November Week 4: Worldview Changers

After taking last week off, I’m back with another post for Nonfiction November. This week our host is Rebekah of the blog She Seeks Nonfiction. Even though she’s been blogging since 2016 I discovered her blog only about a year ago. Since then I’ve been a huge fan, in no small part because I see her as a kindred spirit. Rebekah was raised in the “conservative Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod” even though she “never really believed in God”, and I’m an ex-evangelical Christian. If the books featured on Rebekah’s outstanding blog are any indication she’s a progressive individual who strongly embraces science, reason and intellectual honesty. With that in mind she’s the perfect book blogger to host our latest installment of Nonfiction November.

One of the greatest things about reading nonfiction is learning all kinds of things about our world which you never would have known without it. There’s the intriguing, the beautiful, the appalling, and the profound. What nonfiction book (or books) has impacted the way you see the world in a powerful way? Do you think there is one book that everyone needs to read for a better understanding of the world we live in?

When first introduced to this week’s topic I was excited to participate even though wasn’t sure where to begin. I thought about limiting the scope solely to books critical of Christianity, the Bible or religion in general. I also considered discussing just various political books that have impacted me over the years. Or significant history books that did the same. But in the end I decided to throw caution to the wind and feature as many books as possible that significantly shaped my view of the world. They did this by overthrowing my previous beliefs or assumptions, or in some way or another making me look at things with a different perspective. If this project wasn’t ambitious (or foolhardy) enough, I’d also like to approach things somewhat chronologically, starting with books that impacted me as a young man. (But I’ll still mix things up here and there.)

The Early Years

Christianity and the Bible: A New and Critical Look 

History: A Deeper Understanding 

Anti-Colonialism: At Home and Abroad 

Developing a Post-Religious Worldview

The Middle East: A Deeper Understanding

East vs West and Nations Rich and Poor: Competing Explanations 

Corruptions of Power

Animals: Smarter Than You Think

That’s all for now. Enjoy Nonfiction November!

18 thoughts on “Nonfiction November Week 4: Worldview Changers

  1. What a list!! This must have taken you ages to compose. I’m so impressed!

    I love leaving religion memoirs so I need to browse through those. There Are No Children Here has been on my list forever, thanks for the reminder of that one. Working in the Shadows sounds really interesting and I’ve really enjoyed the two other books I’ve read about that kind of immersion journalism around this topic – Nickel and Dimed and On the Clock. Thanks for such a great list to peruse!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many fantastic books there, absolutely wonderful. I have only read “The Silk Road” which was a great book. I had the Christopher Hitchens on my TBR pile but it was “abducted” by one of my sons and hasn’t reappeared, yet. LOL

    I only have one book on my Worldview Changers post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Nonfiction November Week 4: New to My TBR – What's Nonfiction?

Leave a comment