2015 European Reading Challenge Wrap Up

2015 ERC Button-1Rose City Reader’s European Reading Challenge is one of my favorite reading challenges. Each year Gilion the host encourages participants to read at least one book by a European author or at least one book set in a European country. Because her challenge is a kind of “tour” each book must be by a different author and set in a different country. While the top participation level is the “Deluxe Entourage” of five books, each year she awards a prize to the participant who read the most qualifying books. In past years she’s also awarded honorable mentions to participants. I also like this challenge because the host and I live in the same city of Portland, Oregon USA. I’m probably the only book blogger who’s taken part in a reading challenge that’s hosted by a blogger who lives across town! (I keep thinking some day I might bump into her at a literary event.)

I’m proud to report that last year for the challenge I read and reviewed 20 books representing 21 different European countries. As a result I was deemed winner of the 2014 European Reading Challenge!

Sadly, this year I could only muster half that number. Having read and reviewed 10 books representing 10 different European counties I’m left feeling kind of blue. I had planned on making a final push during the last few months of the challenge, but I got wrapped up reading other kinds of books. I also suffered a bit of blogging burn-out.

Not to worry! I’ll be doing the 2016 European Reading Challenge. My goal is to read and review an impressive array of books and recapture the title!

2 thoughts on “2015 European Reading Challenge Wrap Up

  1. Congratulations for finishing the challenge! I’m off now to tally up who won this year. Although there is one more day for people to post their reviews and wrap up posts, so there may be a last-minute contender!

    Like

Leave a comment