Library Loot: February 10 to 16

library-lootI haven’t done a Library Loot posting since last summer. That of course means it is high time I did another. Even though over the last year I’ve been trying to cut-down on the number of books I grab from the library, today I kind of fell off the wagon and walked away with a sizable collection of books. Fortunately for me, even though I’m trying to work my way through several good books, the stuff I snagged looks quite promising. As always, I don’t know how many of these books I’ll be able to get through before I have to return them. But then again, they look like excellent so who cares?

The Madmen of Benghazi by Gérard de Villiers – I’ve been looking for something by this French spy novelist for the last few years, ever since I read a fascinating article about him in The New York Times Magazine. Only recently has his stuff been translated into English. Before he recently passed away he had been praised by those in the international intelligence community for his insider knowledge of the shadowy world of global espionage.

Limonov: The Outrageous Adventures of the Radical Soviet Poet Who Became a Bum in New York, a Sensation in France, and a Political Antihero in Russia by Emmanuel Carrère – Wow, with a subtitle like that, how could I resist? Just like The Madmen of Benghazi, this one’s been translated from French into English.

And Then All Hell Broke Loose: Two Decades in the Middle East by Richard Engel – According to the front cover, Engel was the Chief Foreign Correspondent for NBC News. I’m looking forward to what he has to say about his time in the Middle East.

Banished: Surviving My Years in the Westboro Baptist Church by Laura Drain with Lisa Pulitzer – I love memoirs by people who’ve left insular religious communities. I can’t wait to read her account of what life is like in that utter freak show known as the Westboro Baptist Church.

Death in the City of Light: The Serial Killer of Nazi-Occupied Paris by David King – Reading the novels of Alan Furst has made me curious about life in Paris during the German occupation. Throw a serial killer into the mix and now I really wanna read King’s book!

Heretics and Heroes: How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World by Thomas Cahill- Cahill has been a favorite author of mine for years, starting with his 1995 smash hit How the Irish Saved Civilization. I hope I enjoy his most recent offering Heretics and Heroes.

11 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

11 responses to “Library Loot: February 10 to 16

  1. Oooh, I know you’ll like Death in the City if Light! Can’t wait to see your review!

    https://julzreads.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/death-in-the-city-of-light-by-david-king/

  2. Ooh, I bought Limonov at work and want to read it sometime. But my library shelf is a little too full just now (I’ve fallen off the wagon too). I hadn’t realized that Cahill had written another book, I think it’s been a long time, right? Is this another in his hinges series?

    • Ahh very nice! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on Limonov. Cahill’s last book was on the Middle Ages and it seems like it was at least 5-6 years ago. Yes, this one is part of the Hinges series.
      Thanks for dropping by!

  3. Pingback: Pan-European Lives: All the Light We Cannot See | Maphead's Book Blog

  4. I hadn’t heard of Banished until this post, but last year I read that New Yorker article about how Megan Phelps-Roper left Westboro partly due to conversations she had on Twitter and it was fascinating.

  5. Great set of book! Our reading tastes are actually quite similar, and I look forward to reading a couple that you picked up on your “Library Loot.” Over time, I has become easier to pick up all of my books on the same date, so that they share a return day. I typically sort the books by the number of renewals that each one is allowed, and this sets the priority for me…unless I’m either in need of a change or too excited to wait to read one of them. Now my library pick-up dates are about once every other month, with returns trickling in as needed. This method has also reduced my accidentally acquired late fees, which I have joked with the librarians as being my “bar tab.” Reading can be intoxicating; can’t it?

    • Thanks!
      Libby, I’m so glad you found my blog! From reading your blog, I must agree with you that yes, we do have similar tastes!
      I’m luck to live in city with a library that has an extremely generous renewal policy. Without it, I’d never be able to read have the stuff I read.
      I LOVE your blog! Last week I added it to my Old Reader feed. I’m also going to add you to my “Cool Book Blogs” list on my right hand column.
      Thanks for dropping by and commenting! Please visit again!!

Leave a Reply

