About Time I Read It: Bohemian Gospel by Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Needing something set in the Czech Republic for Rose City Reader‘s European Reading Challenge back in March I borrowed a library copy of Dana Chamblee Carpenter’s 2015 novel Bohemian Gospel. Intrigued by both its 13th century setting and title I found the book hard to resist. After a few fits and starts I eventually whipped through the quick paced Bohemian Gospel in no time. To be honest I didn’t enjoy it as much as I’d hoped, but judging by all the positive comments on Amazon left by the book’s loyal fans I might be in the minority. It’s also spawned a sequel of two follow up novels leaving me wondering if I need to give Chamblee Carpenter’s fiction another look.

Dubbed Mouse by the clerics who took her in as an abandoned infant, the novel’s 16 year old heroine has lived a largely cloistered life. While not a novitiate, let alone a full-on nun the young teen has earned a reputation as gifted healer, possessing skills more than bordering on the supernatural. After saving  King Ottakar, the young ruler of Prague from a deadly arrow wound she quickly finds herself enlisted as his personal physician. Declaring her his “ward” he adds her to his royal entourage and brings her back with him to his castle in Prague. There she must deal with the perils of palace intrigue, not the least of which are the evil machinations of Ottakar’s father the elder king. A lecherous drunk driven mad by the horrors of childhood trauma the monstrous monarch loathes his son, loving nothing more than seeing him dead. Adding to this chaotic mix is the smoldering passion Ottakar and Mouse share for each other and the sad realization they’ll never be husband and wife. Alas, Ottakar is fated to marry the princess of a neighboring kingdom in hopes of cementing closer relations between the two royal houses.

Bohemian Gospel defies easy classification. More than a work of historical fiction, it’s a diverse mix elements such as coming of age, romance, dark fantasy, dynastic intrigue and religious imagery all set against a brooding backdrop of medieval Central Europe. An orphan purported to be of noble birth, Mouse’s origin is shrouded in mystery. Wise well beyond her years she’s also blessed, or cursed, depending how you look at it with supernatural abilities. Like a Jedi who can use the force to manipulate weak minds, Mouse when needed can order others do her bidding. Her supernatural abilities also include a kind of low-grade telepathy enabling her to read the emotions and intent of others, as well as the ability to see and communicate with denizens of the undead.

Bohemian Gospel, wasn’t what I expected it to be, but Dana Chamblee Carpenter’s debut novel is a light but on the whole entertaining read. For that alone it could be praised.

3 thoughts on “About Time I Read It: Bohemian Gospel by Dana Chamblee Carpenter

  1. You have inspired me to check out two of the books you have featured and I look forward to reading both! Questions: how fast do you read through these? How many hours a day do you read? Lastly, do you read one at a time, start to end, or do you have multiples going at once? Your mind has always amazed and fascinated. I shall not be surprised to learn the legend of the Polymath of Pedee. 📚📖📕 🌹

    Like

    • Thank you for the kind words. To hopefully answer you questions believe it or not I tend to be a slow reader. Therefore, I try read whenever I get the opportunity. I also read several books at a time, although usually not efficiently. LOL
      Of course some books take longer than others to read. For example Meanies, Miscreants and Malcontents: A History of St. Johns took forever due to the tome’s extensive length. While the memoir Must Find Squirrel: My Life in Public Service also took forever to read due mostly to the author’s frequent and chaotic digressions.
      On the other hand some business-related books are a quick read. How to Network at Funerals by R. McGee was a snap.
      If you’re looking for recommendations check out my Favorite Fiction of 2023 list here:

      And Favorite Nonfiction here:

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Miscreants and Malcontents of St Johns sounds familiar. Wondering if any key characters are named Patty or Selma. Likely an Olivia in that saga who was a malcontent that often regrets the destroyed bridges lying in a crumbly past. The research work by R. McGee, though taking chutzpah, fell a bit below expectations. As for Must Find Squirrel… I doubt he will ever be located! I do recommend you check out a fitness book by an elder author which impressed me greatly: LL Graybeal, a woman who went from executive wife to record setting powerlifter at the age of 80. The world holds endless surprises, many found between the pages of a book, others in cyberspace with great gratitude. Thank you for answering me. I really do look forward to the two I checked out as seen on your blog and seeing what you are reading in your challenges. I still have you figured for a voracious and fast reader whom enchants the local librarian endlessly. I think you are merely modest. Well.. back to Umberto Eco and my slow swing on Foucault’s Pendulum, a book left to me and I now am attempting in memory of my dear old friend 🌹

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment