Library Loot: Books in Translation Edition

As always, even though I’m up to my eyeballs in library books I couldn’t resist borrowing a few more. Perhaps for the first time ever on my blog all three books I’m featuring are translated from other languages. Naturally, I’ll be applying them towards the Books in Translation Reading Challenge in addition to the European Reading  and Nonfiction Reader challenges.  Over the last month or so that tower of library books by my reading chair has only grown taller, so I better knuckle down and do some reading. Too many books and not enough time. Story of my life! 

  • The Anatomy of a Moment: Thirty-five Minutes in History and Imagination by Javier Cercas (2011) (Translated from Spanish) – In 1981 and on live television, the Spanish military attempted to overthrow the nation’s young democratic government. I’m old enough to remember seeing this on the evening news and look forward to reading this acclaimed book.
  • Aftermath: Life in the Fallout of the Third Reich, 1945-1955 by Harald Jähner (2022) (Translated from German) – Since I’m a sucker for anything about, or set in Germany during the immediate post-War II period this one was hard to resist.
  • What Never Happens by Anne Holt (2008) (Translated from Norwegian) – After having good luck with Holt’s 2011 mystery 1222 I thought I’d try something else by the best-selling Norwegian crime novelist.

 Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted Claire from The Captive Reader and Sharlene from Real Life Reading to encourage bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write-up your post, steal the Library Loot icon and link your post using the Mr. Linky on Sharlene’s Blog

12 thoughts on “Library Loot: Books in Translation Edition

  1. Look forward to your thoughts on anatomy of a moment one of my favourite works of non fiction in translation it captures a moment of madness and an event little remembered now so well

    Like

  2. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer: What Never Happens by Anne Holt | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a comment