About Time I Read It: The Midas Murders by Pieter Aspe

Several years ago while using Overdrive to find a novel set in Belgium for Rose City Reader‘s European Reading Challenge I stumbled across Belgian writer Pieter Aspe’s Inspector Van In series of crime thrillers. Starting with Bruges with Love I followed it up a year later with The Fourth Figure.  Recently, once again needing to fulfill the Belgium part of the reading challenge I returned to Overdrive and borrowed an ebook of The Midas Murders. Just like before I quickly whipped through Aspe’s tale of Belgian murder and mayhem. However, because I found some aspects of the plot a bit too complex for my taste I didn’t enjoy The Midas Murders as much as the Bruges with Love and The Fourth Figure.

Early one morning a businessman is found dying on downtown snow-covered street and despite the best efforts of first responders he succumbs to his injuries en route to the hospital. Skeptical the man’s death was simply an alcohol infused accident Van In orders a thorough autopsy, which later reveals he died of blunt force trauma. Armed with this information Van In, together with his trusted police partner begin their investigation. Before long it becomes apparent the businessman’s murder is part of a much larger conspiracy, one that reaches to the highest levels of power both in Belgium and abroad. A conspiracy that impacts Van In not only professionally but also personally as those involved scheme to forcibly remake the very city of Bruges in order to satisfy their own greedy economic desires.

Originally published in 1996, the Flemish-language novel didn’t hit the English speaking world for almost two decades. My least favorite novel in this series nevertheless it’s still a decent read. With three of these under my belt I look forwarded to finally reading The Square of Revenge, the first book in this entertaining series.

7 thoughts on “About Time I Read It: The Midas Murders by Pieter Aspe

  1. When reading a book in translation, I worry about losing some of the intent, humor, or meaning and I wonder if I’ll “get” the cultural references. This series sounds good even if this one wasn’t the best.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2023 European Reading Challenge Wrap-Up | Maphead's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: 2023 Books in Translation Reading Challenge Wrap-Up | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a comment