Nonfiction November Week 4: Stranger than Fiction

Last week Veronica at The Thousand Book Project hosted Nonfiction November and this week another great blogger, Christopher at Plucked from the Stacks has agreed to host. 

This week we’re focusing on all the great nonfiction books that *almost* don’t seem real. A sports biography involving overcoming massive obstacles, a profile on a bizarre scam, a look into the natural wonders in our world—basically, if it makes your jaw drop, you can highlight it for this week’s topic.

When I first read Rennie’s post announcing Nonfiction November I thought I’d sit this week out. While I might be able to think of a book or two that might possibly fit the bill I wasn’t sure I could recommend enough books worthy of a post. Even if I could, what one considers stranger than fiction is definitely in the eye of the beholder. But the more I thought about it, the more I began remembering books that might be perfect for a post like this.   

Science and Nature

True Tales of Survival

True Crime 

Incredible Lives 

Incredible Iranian Lives 

  • A Time to Betray: The Astonishing Double Life of a CIA Agent Inside the Revolutionary Guards of Iran by Reza Kahlili – Disillusioned with Iran’s theocratic regime, Kahlili put his life on the line to become an American agent. 
  • A Mirror Garden by Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian – Like a real life Forest Gump, over the course of her rich and adventurous life Farmanfarmaian rubbed shoulders with long parade of celebrities. From Andy Warhol to Warren Beaty to Prince Charles the tales of her charmed life make for great reading. She even played Twister with the Shah of Iran and his royal entourage. 
  • Prisoner of Tehran by Marina Nemat – Moments before she was about to be executed for opposing Iran’s revolutionary regime, Nemat agreed to marry one of her prison guards and convert to Islam. She was just 16 years old. 

History

Cults and Leaving Religion 

 

And to think I was worried I couldn’t come up with enough books for this post. Happy reading and enjoy Nonfiction November! 

21 thoughts on “Nonfiction November Week 4: Stranger than Fiction

  1. Incredible list of books. Real life really is a crazy thing. I’ve read a few of these books and agree that they are well worth the time. I’ll add some more to my TBR.

    Like

    • Thanks!
      If I can point you in the direction of a good book or two that will be wonderful.
      Glad you also enjoyed The Black Count and The Trauma Cleaner.
      Happy reading and enjoy NFN!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Week 5 - Nonfiction November #theOCBookGirl #nonficnov #nonfictionbookparty - The OC BookGirl

  3. Pingback: NonFiction Finds – Silver Button Books

  4. Pingback: Nonfiction November Week 5: New to my TBR | book'd out

  5. Pingback: Nonfiction November Week 5: The Growing TBR Pile – Plucked from the Stacks

Leave a comment