BANDing together for projects and goals.

Joy of Joy’s Book Blog is hosting this month’s discussion of B.A.N.D. and in her post, she asks the question, “What book or books have you used or are you using to support a goal, resolution, or project?” That’s a good question and it demands a good answer. So let’s see what I can come up with to hopefully answer Joy’s question.

As I look back on 2011 and ponder Joy’s question I guess the first things that jumps out at me are a few of reading projects I featured last year on my blog.

That’s a brief run-down on the reading projects of 2011. But what about 2012? In addition to the above-mentioned projects, (and number of reading challenges including Kinna’s African one and Helen’s Middle East one), I hope to unleash two new reading projects.

  • The Enlightenment Project. I’ve been mulling this one over for about a year. I wanna start a project featuring books that explore the Enlightenment period of history. Besides A Wicked Company, I have a number of books in mind for this project including Peter Gay’s The Enlightenment and Henry Steele Commager’s The Empire of Reason. I can’t wait to start this project.
  • Church-State Studies. Yet another one that’s been on my mind for a while. There’s several books I have in mind for this project including Peter Irons’s God on Trial and Greenhaven Press’s Church and State: Opposing Viewpoints.
  • Point-Counterpoint. Speaking of Greenhaven Press and their Opposing Viewpoints and Current Controversies series of fine books, I’m toying with the idea of a project in which I review two diametrically opposed books side by side. Possible candidates for this project could be Cornell West’s Race Matters and Joseph Graves’s The Race Myth or maybe a pair of books representing opposite sides of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Well that’s all for right now. Probably time for me to get back to my reading. It look’s like there’s a lot of work ahead of me.

8 thoughts on “BANDing together for projects and goals.

  1. You know, for that Enlightenment project you could go straight to the sources. I’ve never been disappointed by JS Mill or Mary Wollstonecraft. Olympe de Gouges is a pretty exciting read (unfortunately, the Jacobins chopped off her head for what she wrote). Knowing some backstory of the various personalities makes such material all the better. Mixing Enlightenment with Adventure, I enjoyed reading Abby Jane Morrell’s book about sailing on a merchant ship in the early 1800s. It looks like a new printing of her book (with a shorter title) is to be published soon.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Books for Resolutions, Goals, and Projects — January BAND wrap-up | Joy's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: When Science and Faith Collide: Exploring Reality by John Polkinghorne | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a comment