About Time I Read It: Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name

After enjoying the heck out of Vendela Vida’s novel The Diver’s Clothes Lie Empty I was up for reading more of her stuff. Once I learned one of her earlier novels, Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name happened to be set in the Nordic region of Lapland I added it to my Overdrive wish list, knowing I could apply it towards Rose City Reader’s European Reading Challenge. Last week I found myself in the mood for more of Vida’s fiction so I borrowed a digital copy for my Kindle. Much like with The Diver’s Clothes Lie Empty I whipped through the book in no time. And just like I did with The Diver’s Clothes Lie Empty I enjoyed it.

Life hasn’t been kind to Clarissa Iver­ton. Her mother ran off when she was 14, leaving her dad to care for Clarissa and her developmentally disabled younger brother. Years later, reeling from her father’s recent death, she learns he wasn’t her true biological dad. Then, days later, just when things couldn’t possibly get any worse she breaks up with her fiancé. In hopes of meeting her real father Clarissa travels halfway across the world to Northern Finland, where she ends up unearthing even deeper and darker family secrets.

Even though I liked The Diver’s Clothes Lie Empty slightly more than this earlier novel of Vida’s in no way did Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name leave me disappointed. Vida has a gift for writing taught novels featuring female protagonists, who despite any personal weaknesses still manage to overcome whatever curve balls life has thrown their way. While I’ve read only two of her novels, I like they’re set in exotic foreign locales, be it sun-drenched Morocco or frozen Lapland . Therefore, I doubt Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name will be the last novel by Vendela Vida featured on my blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Europe, Fiction

Leave a Reply

