Five Bookish Links

Well, I’m back with more bookish links. First off, I wanna give a shout-out to Citizen Reader. Not only did she say some kind words about my blog, but she also posted a pair of links to a couple of my posts. For this post, I’d like to post links featuring authors whose books I’ve reviewed on my blog. I believe it’s only fitting the topic of my first link comes Citizen Reader’s recent post.

  1. I love Anne Applebaum. Her books Gulag: A History and Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe 1944-1956 easily made my year-end Best Nonfiction List. In her piece for the New York Review of Books “The New European Narrative” she reviews six different books on the future of Europe in the post-Brexit world. By the way, she was also interviewed by Sam Harris back in May for his Waking Up podcast “The Russia Connection.” 
  2. The economist Tim Harford has the ability to look at everyday situations and explain their underlying economics so non-economists like us can understand them in a whole new light. I’ve read two of his books, The Logic of Life: The Rational Economics of an Irrational World and The Undercover Economist and loved them both. Interviewed by Five Books, Harford recommended five of the best books on unexpected economics. His interview posted on The Reading Lists is also worth checking out.
  3. Speaking of economists, Daron Acemoglu, along with James Robinson are the authors of Why Nations Fail: The Origins of Power, Prosperity, and Poverty another outstanding book that made my Best Nonfiction List. His Reading Lists interview “Incentives and Equilibrium” is great. When asked what he’s reading right now, one of the three books he mentioned was Bloodlands: Europe Between Hitler and Stalin by Timothy Snyder
  4. I’m glad Acemoglu is reading Snyder’s Bloodlands because that book, like Why Nations Fail, Iron Curtain and Gulag made my year-end Best Nonfiction List. Not long ago Snyder told Five Books what he thought are the five best books on dissent. Like Anne Applebaum, Snyder also appeared on the podcast Waking Up. Here’s a link to that podcast entitled “The Road to Tyranny.” 
  5. Lastly, it took me years to finally get around to reading Mark Bowden’s Black Hawk Down: A Story of Modern War but when I did I loved it. Mere days ago Bowden was interviewed by The Reading Lists. 
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Five Bookish Links

  1. I have two of Tim Harford’s books on my “to read soon” shelf right now — Messy, and his newest one about the economy in 50 objects, but I can’t remember the title. I’ve enjoyed his essays and shorter writing, so I’m sure the books will be great too.

Leave a Reply

