Spring Forward – With Books!

When you fall behind in your blogging perhaps all you can do is spring forward with a big list of books. My goodness did I fall behind in my blogging. A combination of writer’s block, a nasty bought of insomnia and overall laziness put me way behind the eight ball.  The end result is I’m having to do one of those dreaded catch-up posts I keep telling myself is just another preview post that I hope will inspire me to get back to blogging.

While my recent lack of blogging prowess is certainly bad news. The good news is even though my reading took a hit thanks to the insomnia (tired and zombie-like during the day, there’s nothing like taking 10 minutes to read one page of text) I still managed to read some quality books, both fiction and nonfiction. Of the six books featured below, two and possibly three stand a good chance of making my end of the year Best Nonfiction while two more are strong contenders for my Best Fiction category.

Enough talk, on to the catch-up list:

  • The Great Gamble: The Soviet War in Afghanistan by Gregory Feifer – If this title looks familiar it’s because I mentioned it last July in my Books I’ve Desperately Wanted to Read post. Took me close to eight years to get around to reading Feifer’s 2009 book but in the end I was not disappointed.
  • Paris 1919: Six Months That Changed the World by Margaret MacMillan – Another book featured in the above-mentioned post. Finally, after many fits and starts I was able to track down an available library copy. An outstanding book!
  • Weapons of Math Destruction: How Big Data Increases Inequality and Threatens Democracy by Cathy O’ Neil – After hearing all kinds of buzz about this one my book club took a chance on it. Bad enough to be poor and powerless in America. Sucks when Big Data wants to keep it that way.
  • The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker – I read this 2013 novel for yet another of my book clubs. Combining Jewish mythology with that of pre-Islamic Middle East, Wecker’s novel is an enjoyable blend of fantasy, history, love and revenge.
  • Trieste by Dasa Drndic – Grabbed this one because it’s set during World War II and I could apply it towards the European Reading Challenge. Overall, kind of an odd book and I’m not sure what to make of it.
  • The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters – For the last few years I’ve been wanting to read this 2014 historical novel after hearing Maureen Corrigan rave about it on NPR’s Fresh Air. After a well-read co-worker also sang its praises I knew I was on to something.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Spring Forward – With Books!

  1. This feels like an intense list of books. Sorry to hear about the insomnia; that is not fun.

  2. Pingback: About Time I Read It: The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

