About Time I Read It: In the Country of Men by Hisham Matar

In the Country of MenAs I mentioned in my earlier post, I’ve been itching to read Hisham Matar’s novel In the Country of Men for over 10 years. The problem is, it’s been hard as heck to secure a library copy. When you write a coming of age novel that’s set in Libya that ends up getting shortlisted for the Book Man Award everyone wants to read it. So like any popular book, it seemed like it was perpetually checked out from my local library. But one day not long ago, I noticed there was an available copy so I quickly grabbed it. I’m happy to let you know I was not disappointed, even having to wait 10 years to read it.

Set in Libya in 1979 during an era when Qadhafi reigned supreme, the novel’s young narrator Suleiman recalls his life in the capital Tripoli as the nine-year old son and only child of a couple whose marriage, to say the least is less than ideal. His father, a businessman with a penchant for hatching one unsuccessful business venture after another, is frequently absent, ostensibly for business purposes. His mother, an emotionally unstable alcoholic, literally curses the day she married Suleiman’s father preferring to spend her purposeless days and nights lamenting the state of her marriage while pining for the brief period of freedom she enjoyed as a teen girl before she was forcibly married off by her family. While all this is going on, young Suleiman witnesses firsthand the soul crushing oppression of a ruthless dictatorship.

Matar did a fine job telling this story not just through the eyes of a young child, but also as an adult looking back years later would tell that child’s story. Not only is In the Country of Men is an excellent novel, it’s also an excellent debut novel. Please consider it highly recommended.

4 Comments

Filed under Arab World, Area Studies/International Relations, Fiction, History, Middle East/North Africa

4 responses to “About Time I Read It: In the Country of Men by Hisham Matar

  1. I have this on my iPad and definitely intend to read it. Thank you for the reminder that it exists and for letting me know it’s a good read

  2. Wasn’t there a blogging project a while ago where someone was going to read a book from every country? I was thinking of it because I don’t know that I’ve ever read a book from Libya!

Leave a Reply

