2016 In Review: My Favorite Fiction

As the year known as 2016 finally draws to a close, it’s time for me to look back on what I’ve read and announce to the world my favorite books of the year. In a bit of a twist, I’m going to do this post a bit earlier in December than I usually do. To add another twist, I’ll be listing my favorite works of fiction, which might seem odd for a blog devoted overwhelming to nonfiction. (Don’t worry, you’ll be seeing a similar list for my favorite nonfiction books before you know it.) But even though I read mostly nonfiction in 2016, I did read some very good fiction. Therefore, it’s only fair I spotlight these outstanding novels at year-end. Of course, this year just like in previous ones, it doesn’t matter when these books were published, all that matters is they are excellent.

  1. Florence of Arabia by Christopher Buckley – Funny, smart and entertaining as hell.
  2. The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay – A great historical novel that I’ve been wanting to read for almost half a decade. Why did I wait so long to read it?
  3. The Plot Against America by Philip Roth – After America’s recent Presidential election, feel free to move this novel from the alternate history section to current events.
  4. The Fifth Servant by Kenneth J. Wishnia- I stumbled across this historical novel by accident. Sure glad I did.
  5. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – Sure this novel got all the hype and won all the awards. But would I like it? Oh yes.
  6. The Dogs of Riga by Henning Mankell – Let’s just say my first foray into Scandinavian crime fiction was not an unpleasant one.

As for declaring an overall winner, it wasn’t easy since all six books are fantastic. In the end, I had to give it to Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See. As high as my expectations were for this book, I was not disappointed. A superb novel.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “2016 In Review: My Favorite Fiction

  1. We read All the Light We Cannot See for my book club earlier this year, and we all loved it. It’s such a beautifully poignant book.

  2. Pingback: 2016 In Review: My Favorite Nonfiction | Maphead's Book Blog

  3. Florence of Arabia has been on my TBR list for so long I’d almost forgotten about it. Reading your review makes me so excited to pick it up for myself – hopefully in 2017!

  4. Pingback: 2016 European Reading Challenge Wrap-Up | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

