Library Loot: July 1 to 7

For a long time, Library Loot was a regular feature on my blog. Almost every week I would report to the world which books I grabbed from the public library, and in turn link that post on another book blogger’s page. This arrangement not only helped my readers get a glimpse into what I hoped to read over the coming weeks, it also gave me the opportunity to see what other book bloggers planned on reading. I discovered many a great book thanks to this little meme, including Keith Lowe’s Savage Continent: Europe in the Aftermath of World War II, since it was a Library Loot posting on Claire’s blog The Captive Reader that first brought Lowe’s book to my attention. But sadly, I fell out of the habit of doing Library Loot posts, with my last one appearing two years ago.

Today, on this warm and lazy July 4th holiday I’ve decided to resurrect that little blogging tradition of mine. Behold, a parade of recently acquired books, courtesy of my public library. Of course, it’s no sure thing I’ll end up reading all of them, but perhaps that’s not the point. Maybe the purpose is to share your reading ambitions with others. So, with all that in mind, here’s what I’ve brought home recently from the public library.

Well, there it is. Quite a lot of reading ahead of me. If I make it though only a portion of these of books I’ll consider it a major accomplishment. So with that in mind, maybe I need to wrap up this long overdue Library Loot post and get back to reading.

9 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

9 responses to “Library Loot: July 1 to 7

  1. I always bring home more than I can read from the library. Interesting stack there. Enjoy!

  2. Despite having checked it out from the library multiple times now, I’ve still yet to read Savage Continent. I picked it up a week or two ago though and have finally made a start. Of course, it is fantastic and I know I’ll be joining you in raving about it from now on.

  3. Pingback: Pan-European Lives: The World at Night by Alan Furst | Maphead's Book Blog

  4. Hi Maphead–I also read Hooman Majd’s book last hear; in fact, I read all three in the “series,” in the order in which they had been published. they wound up being just “okay” for me. I found myself wanting to know more about his father’s experiences, given that he was a diplomat under the last Shah and had been imprisoned as a result, was released, and fled Iran. He did not want his son to return to the Islamic Republic.

Leave a Reply

