Lying: A Metaphorical Memoir by Lauren Slater

As I was leaving the library one afternoon, I took a quick look at the staff recommended books because you never know what you might find. For some inexplicable reason, one book caught my attention. Picking it up so I could inspect it a bit further, I noticed it was a memoir by Lauren Slater entitled Lying: A Metaphorical Memoir. After seeing it was published in 2000, I figured for a 14-year-old memoir to receive a library staff recommendation it must be pretty good. And let’s face it, who can resist a memoir called Lying? Needless to say, I grabbed Slater’s memoir and headed back to the automated check-out machine.

The easiest way to describe this book is to simply say it’s Lauren Slater’s recollection of her childhood battles with severe epilepsy, kleptomania and compulsive lying, followed by her coming of age experiences and her road to becoming a writer. But such an easy explanation is out of the question. After all, it’s gotta be called Lying for a reason. Therefore, in telling her story, Slater mixes fact and fiction while serving up truth mixed with half truth. Crazy thing is nothing feels fake or outlandish. Try as you can, while reading Lying you’re never truly able to discern what’s real and what’s a fabrication. The only thing more disturbing than this is you love Slater as a writer for doing this because her well-written memoir holds your attention and sucks you in.

I don’t know what’s true and false about this memoir. But honestly, I don’t care. The storytelling is superb. I was thoroughly entertained from start to finish. Hats off to the good people at the public library for introducing me to this fun memoir.

5 Comments

Filed under Memoir, Science

5 responses to “Lying: A Metaphorical Memoir by Lauren Slater

  1. Awesome. I think all memoirs are like to some degree or another, right? We don’t remember everything perfectly and many memories we do have could have been someone else’s recollection of the same event. What I like about this is she is honest about it. Half of it could be intentional fabrications but the other half could very well be unintentional and isn’t that what we remember about our lives? Don’t we make up our own narrative? I’ll have to check this one out! Great review 🙂

    • Thanks! Glad you enjoyed my review! Good points. I doubt there’s anything resembling a 100 per cent factual memoir!
      Thanks for dropping by my blog! Please feel free to visit again!
      (By the way you have an excellent blog! I will make a habit of visiting it frequently!)

  2. joyweesemoll

    Hopping over from the Nonfiction Reading Challenge.

    What a timely approach to memoir! The more I read and write, the more I’m aware that all writing is crafted and none of it can be true to life, because it isn’t life. The story has to take precedence if it’s every to attract a reader. There’s a balance that stops short of actual lying in most memoir, but I like that someone deliberately didn’t stop short of that. A fun approach to a topic that we probably make more difficult than it needs to be.

  3. Pingback: The Coffee Trader: A Novel by David Liss | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

