Atheism Remix: A Christian Confronts the New Atheism

Not only do I enjoy reading books by atheists, I also enjoy reading stuff by their critics. I followed up The God Delusion with The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine. I followed up The End of Faith: Religion, Terror and the Future of Reason with Is Religion Dangerous?. So, on the heels The Homemade Atheist I decided to read Atheism Remix: A Christian Confronts The New Atheism by R. Albert Mohler.

Just like The Homemade Atheist, Atheism Remix is a short book so I was able to whip through it quickly. I thought it was OK, but nothing special. Mohler is an evangelical heavy hitter from Southern Seminary and Atheism Remix is his response to the above mentioned New Atheists. He attacks their arguments by quoting extensively from their critics. Mohler also asserts that atheism, especially in America, is the belief system of a miniscule elite. Contrary to popular opinion, the overwhelming majority of people in America are not atheists. Being the proud evangelical Christian that he is, he asserts that only a traditional, theologically conservative Christianity can effective combat the evils of atheism. Liberal and more accommodationist forms of Christianity will not do. Neither will some vague and open-ended spirituality. To Mohler it’s all or nothing.

While I wasn’t too impressed with this book, at least its author pointed me towards a few promising books. Down the road I’d like to read Why God Won’t Go Away: Is the New Atheism Running on Empty?God and the New Atheism: A Critical Response to Dawkins, Harris, and Hitchens

2 Comments

Filed under Agnostic/Atheist/Skeptic, Christianity

2 responses to “Atheism Remix: A Christian Confronts the New Atheism

  1. Alexander

    Never quite got this quantitative argument made by christians. That certainly is true that atheists most of the time are the minority. Not an argument to be used by a smart person trying to engage in the intelligent discussion.

    What would you call your favourite book by the atheist writer?

    • Indeed.
      That’s a tough question. Until just recently I would have immediately answered End of Faith by Sam Harris. I admire his ability to write passionately, yet directly. I also admire him for intellectual honesty and his refusal to spare “sacred cows”, even if it means being “politically incorrect”. However, lately I’ve been wondering if he and other “new atheists” go too far and end up denigrating theistic believers. Steven Prothero in his book God is Not One has a great chapter on atheism and spends a lot of time discussing this and other related points. It’s a great book and I highly recommend it!
      I’m also a fan of Bart Ehrman, Michael Shermer, Ibn Warraq and Susan Jacoby. Of course the late Christopher Hitchens deserves a special spot in the pantheon since the man could write like nobody’s business!
      I just finished William Lobdell’s Losing My Religion and it’s VERY GOOD! Highly recommended!
      Thanks for dropping my Alexander! Please visit again!!

Leave a Reply

