Library Loot: August 14 to 20

Seems like it’s been a long time since I’ve done a Library Loot posting. It also seems like I hardly do them anymore. Crazy thing is even though I’m constantly pillaging the library and grabbing more books, I haven’t been keeping up with my Library Loot postings. Well, there’s one way to remedy that problem. Time for me to get off my duff and post a little Library Loot!

Of the six books featured, all were chosen with various reading challenges in mind. One of those challenges, Joy’s Back to School Reading Challenge, is unique among challenges in that it’s just for two months. Besides inspiring participants to read and review as many books as possible during the months of August and September, according to Joy the chief purpose of the challenge is explore different topics in hopes of learning something new. Sounds like my kind of challenge. With that thought in mind, here’s what I picked up at the library.

A Conspiracy Of Decency: The Rescue Of The Danish Jews During World War II

The Arab-Israeli Conflict: Global Viewpoints ed. by Noah Berlatsky – I picked up this one with the Middle East Reading Challenge in mind.

Predators, Prey, and Other Kinfolk: Growing Up in Polygamy by Dorothy Allred Solomon – Over the last ten years there’s been a small explosion in number of memoirs by polygamy survivors. Why not start with this one?

On the Eve: The Jews of Europe Before the Second World War

The Revenge of Geography: What the Map Tells Us About Coming Conflicts and the Battle Against Fate
Monsoon: The Indian Ocean and the Future of American Power. I’m hoping this one is also great.

From the Ruins of Empire: The Intellectuals Who Remade Asia

There you have it. These are six fairly substantial books and I expect to learn quite a bit by reading them. I see them fulfilling a number of reading challenges, especially Joy’s Back to School challenge. I can’t wait to dive in and get started.

5 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

5 responses to “Library Loot: August 14 to 20

  1. The Kaplan sounds great and I’m intrigued by From the Ruins of Empire. I hadn’t heart of the Back to School Challenge before but it sounds great fun. Enjoy your loot!

  2. Looks like you’ve got a lot of good books to learn from there!

  3. Pingback: Library Loot: July 1 to 7 | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

