Library Loot: November 21-27

As November draws to an end I’m frantically trying to complete a few reading challenges before the end of the year. On top of this I have small stack of a books I’d like to get through before I should even think about starting any more. This means I should probably think twice about grabbing anymore books from the library. Of course, that’s how a rational person with a modicum of self-restraint would act and not me. Therefore, when I recently dropped by the library to return a few items and the next thing I knew I was walking out the door with yet another stack of books. Yes, just what I needed, more books. Oh well, at least they look promising.

Will I get through all of these books before the end of the year? Probably not. But even though I’m reading a ton of stuff right now I’d like to at least try. I can still dream, can’t I?

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Library Loot: November 21-27

  1. An Orange Revolution and Sarajevo both sound very good. I placed a whole bunch of library holds yesterday on books for the Eastern European Reading Challenge; I am still hoping to hit 12 before the end of the year, even though I’m only at 7 right now. It could happen… I hope you get on better with The Anglo Files than I did. I found it rather mean and small-minded.

    • I didn’t know you’re also taking part in the Eastern European Reading Challenge. My goal is eight books but I have feeling I’ll come up a few short.
      Thanks for the heads-up on Anglo Files. Your impressions will be in the back of my mind as I read it.
      Thanks also for dropping by my blog and commenting!

  2. JoV

    The thorn of the lion city sounds great. Thanks for recommending it. Love to read more about Singapore. I don’t think I’ll ever finish my reading challenge this year. Best of luck to yours and enjoy your loot!

  3. You are most welcome. I too would like to read more about Singapore. Someday I’m going to finally read Lee Kuan Yew’s autobiography. It’s been sitting in my library unread for far too long.
    Thanks!

  4. Love Troost. List on Planet China is his best.

    • Good to hear. After reading a few pages of Lost on Planet China the other night I’m feeling that might indeed be the case. Troost had me chuckling.
      Thanks for dropping by my blog. Please visit again!

  5. Pingback: Sarajevo: A War Journal by Zlatko Dizdarević | Maphead's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Askold Krushelnycky takes us inside Ukraine’s Orange Revolution | Maphead's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Fear and loathing in Zimbabwe | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

