Confessions of a prison librarian

I wish I could tell you where and when I first heard about Avi Steinberg’s memoir Running the Books: The Adventures of an Accidental Prison Librarian, but I somehow strongly suspect I have Cass of Bonjour Cass to thank. All I know is when I stumbled upon Steinberg’s 2010 memoir while rummage through the stacks at my public library it looked vaguely familiar. And while the last thing I needed was one more library book, I couldn’t resist anything written from the perspective of a prison librarian. So, just as you might have guessed I grabbed it.

Steinberg, in his memoir recalls his life as a recovering Orthodox Jew and Harvard grad, who leaves the glamorous world of writing death notices to become a librarian in a Boston-area prison. Along the way he encounters a myriad of intriguing people ranging from lazy and mildly sadistic guards to inmates of every conceivable stripe (no pun intended). Much to my liking, he leavens his book with a no small amount of humor, while at the same time keeping things real enough in order to accurately describe the broken lives, oppressive environment and rare glimmers of hope and humanity that he sees around him.

Running the Books reminded me a lot of TV shows like The Wire, in which the felonious are depicted as being more interesting and possibly more redeemable than those intrusted with enforcing law and order. Almost without exception, in Steinberg’s memoir the guards he interacts with are lazy, manipulative and cruel, and thanks to the protection afforded by their corrections union virtually immune from any discipline or corrective action. The convicts on the other hand are mainly depicted as broken but nevertheless multidimensional people, despite being the victims of crushing poverty, addiction and bad choices.

In short, I enjoyed it. While I would have liked if a bit more attention had been paid to the reading habits of the inmates, considering the brutal environment of the prison and the education level of its inmates, I was happy to take what I could get. While I didn’t expect so much attention devoted to the inmates’ daily lives as well as their backstories, nevertheless I thought it made for interesting reading. Lastly, to anyone who’s read Ted Conover’s excellent memoir Newjack: Guarding Sing Sing, Running the Books makes a pretty good follow-up read.

The Russian novelist Dostoevsky once said that the degree of civilization in a society can be judged by entering its prisons. If that’s the case, then perhaps Steinberg’s Running the Books has much to say about America’s current degree of civilization.

12 Comments

Filed under Judaica, Memoir

12 responses to “Confessions of a prison librarian

  1. This has just entered my TBR list! Thanks for the review and recommendation!

    🙂

  2. I have this one on my shelves, although I also can’t remember who recommended it. The boyfriend and I finished watching The Wire a few months ago, so now I’m obsessed with anything that reminds me of the show. This one is moving up the TBR pile!

    • Excellent! If you end up reading it, I hope you enjoy it too. Glad you enjoyed The Wire. Right now my big TV obsessions are Breaking Bad and The Walking Dead!

  3. You know, this looks vaguely familiar to me as well, I bet it was Cass. Or at least some other blogger that we both follow! It sounds really interesting and I, again, vow to one day read it 😉 I love that it paints the inmates so well, showing that they aren’t just, you know, evil.

    • Glad I’m not the only one who thinks this book looks vaguely familiar! His honest portrayal of the inmates was the book’s unexpected surprise. I found that aspect of his memoir quite fascinating.

  4. tolmsted

    I heard the author interviewed on NPR and have had it on my wishlist for months. But now I’m a little bothered by what sounds a bit like a lopsided portrait of prison life. Out of curiosity – did you feel the portrayal of the guards was accurate/fair or that they were being lumped into/reduced to playing a role to fit into the type of book the author wanted to write?

    • Ahhh, now THAT is a very good question!
      While I thought Steinberg did speak facetiously and with irreverent humor from time to time when describing the many people he encounters., generally he loathes the guards. On the other hand, he strives very hard to try to see the good in every inmate that he interacts with on a daily basis. Perhaps from time to time he does come across as being kind of sympathetic with his treatment of the inmates,
      I would still give his memoir a shot. If you do end up reading it, I’d love to read your review of this book.
      Thanks for dropping by! Please visit and comment in the future!

  5. Pingback: Brother One Cell by Cullen Thomas | Maphead's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: About Time I Read It: Orange Is the New Black by Piper Kerman | Maphead's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Books About Books: The Maximum Security Book Club by Mikita Brottman | Maphead's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: The Next Pandemic by Ali S. Khan | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

