Library Loot: June 22-June 28

After reading a few Library Loot postings from Eva, Claire, Bonnie and Marg it dawned on me that I haven’t done a Library Loot posting in a long time. So, I plopped down my latest haul from the public library, poured a big glass of red wine and snapped a pic. In case you were wondering, here’s an inventory of what’s stacked on my bedroom desk waiting to be read.

There we have it. Judging by the length of that list it looks like I have my work cut out for me. I’m going to try to get through as many of those books as possible before I have to return them to the library. I fear once again I’ve bitten off more than I can chew. But that’s OK, I like the challenge. Bring it on.

Oh, and if you were wondering about the wine, it’s a 2009 Old Vine Zin from Gnarly Head winery. Speaking of which, time to pour myself another glass and get back to my reading…

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Library Loot: June 22-June 28

  1. Eva

    I hope you get along with The Disappearing Spoon better than me! I loved the title and the premise, but Kean’s writing drove mes o crazy I ended up quitting after a few chapters. And in case it inspires you to read more pop chemistry, Deborah Blum’s The Poisoner’s Handbook and Oliver Sacks’ Uncle Tungsten are my two favourites! I recently read The Carbon Age, and it seems like a Maphead book too. 🙂

    Looks like quite a fun stack, and I look forward to seeing what you make of them! My LL this week is very nonfiction heavy.

    • I hope I can get along with it too ! I actually read the first couple of chapters the other night and I found the book to be surprisingly entertaining. The molecular chemistry part got a little confusing at times, but I think I was a bit tired and distracted while I was reading it.
      I LOVED The Poisoner’s Handbook ! So far it is one of the best books I’ve read this year.
      I took a look at your LL post. A VERY promising collection of books you have decided to spotlight !!

  2. As always, such a fantastic stack of books here. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts especially on them!

  3. What an intriguing stack! I’ve seen lots of press for The Disappearing Spoon and am quite interested in reading The Faith Instinct. Enjoy!

    • I agree, it does look like an intriguing stack. As I was writing this post I thumbed through The Faith Instinct. From what little I gleaned from it I’m feeling optimistic about it.
      Thanks for dropping by !

  4. JoV

    Good books and good wine. Sounds heaven to me! I havent’ read any of them but would be interested to hear what you think about it!

    • Nothing better than good books and something to drink along with them. I think in my next Library Loot posting I will feature a beer…..or maybe a tall gin and tonic !

  5. Ahh the library, it’s been a while. LOL. I somehow just found your blog and was elated to see you link to me, thanks! I guess I never noticed. I love nonfiction blogs and have subscribed. Can’t wait to keep up with you.

    • You are most welcome. If you haven’t yet, I’d love to have you subscribe ! Glad I’m not the only one out there who enjoys nonfiction.
      Thanks for dropping by !

Leave a Reply

