Library Loot: February 2 – 8

Alright, this is the absolute LAST time I grab a bunch of books from the library ! Seriously, I gotta stop doing this ! This has to stop ! This morning I dropped off a few books at the library and the next thing I know I’m walking out with five more! I wonder if there’s a 12 step program out there somewhere that might be able to help me ? Oh well, enough complaining. Here are the goods.

 

I’ve seen this book reviewed on a number of blogs so when I saw it on the shelf I quickly pounced on it. Deborah Blum’s The Poisoner’s Handbook: Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine in Jazz Age New York looks like an incredibly enjoyable read. This book is getting bumped to the read of the line right now so I can read it before the library wants it back.

Each year my local library hosts the “Everybody Reads” program to encourage as many people as possible to read the same book. With Kite Runner, The Ghost Map, A Long Way Gone and Fahrenheit 451 as past selections, I’m pretty confident this year’s choice The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates will be a winner.

A few months ago I spotted Eliza Griswold’s 2010 book The Tenth Parallel: Dispatches from the Fault Line Between Christianity and Islam at the college bookstore across from my office. After a quick inspection I made a mental note of its title and vowed to someday pilfer it from my public library. Well, that day has arrived. I can’t wait to start it.

When I saw Jerry Muller’s 2010 book Capitalism and the Jews, based on its title alone I knew I had to have it. I love books about Jewish history and I’m hoping Muller’s book will be an enjoyable and fascinating read.

I saw Walter Russell Mead’s 2007 book God and Gold: Britain, America and the Making of the Modern World and after inspecting it I almost left it behind.  However, something about this book made me want to take it. Encouraged by Fareed Zakaria’s endorsement of the back cover I’m feeling I made the right choice.

Well that’s it. Add five MORE books to that massive pile of unread library books in the corner of my living room. Oh well, like I’ve said before, time for me to stop crying and get reading. It looks like I’ve got quite a task ahead of me.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Library Loot: February 2 – 8

  1. JoV

    I know how you feel. I have been there before.
    Make a TBR list and stay focus and stop going to the library!! Use the drop box if you need to return books! 😀

  2. JoV

    On second thought, maybe you should max out your library loan? This post from Simon makes me want to go out and loan A LOT of books from the library!

    http://savidgereads.wordpress.com/2011/02/05/save-our-libraries-day-a-protest-post/

Leave a Reply

