Library Loot: January 26 to February 2

Like a junkie crawling back to his drug supplier, once again I’ve raided my local public library. And once again, I’ve grabbed more books to add to that ever-growing mountain of unread library books in my living room.  The good news is there’s only three books in this week’s installment of Maphead’s Library Loot. The bad news of course is, am I EVER going to read all of this stuff. Oh well, enough crying and complaining. Here are the books.

I remember reading Paul Berman’s 2003 book Terror and Liberalism and being completely blown away by Berman’s writing and brilliant analysis of the West’s struggle against Islamic-inspired terrorism. When I saw his newest book The Flight of the Intellectuals at my public library at first I wasn’t in the mood for something weighty and intellectual. But somehow my curiosity got the better of me so I grabbed it. After a quick initial inspection it looks like Berman explores many of the same issues that Bawer did in his book Surrender. Hopefully, I will like Berman’s newest book as much as his last one, and perhaps more importantly, more than I did Bawer’s book.

Even though Joyce Appleby’s The Relentless Revolution: A History of Capitalism is almost 500 pages and despite its possibly dry subject matter, for whatever reason when I picked it up in my hands her book just felt right. I’m strangely optimistic about this little chunkster of economic history.

 

I originally checked this book out a few years ago, but had to return it before I could even start it. Since then I’ve seen it on the shelves a number of times and this time, I’m giving it another shot. Edited by veteran TV journalist Mike Wallace, The Way We Will Be 50 Years From Today: 60 of the World’s Greatest Minds Share Their Visions of the Next Half Century is a collection of essays by notable thinkers such as Richard Dawkins, Francis S. Collins, former South Korean President Kim Dae-Jung and Richard Clarke weighing in on what our future world will look like with respect to various topics such as global warming, medicine, technology and society. While I don’t have high of expectations of this particular book, I’m still hoping I will find it interesting and enjoyable.

That’s it. Fortunately only three books this time around. I guess it’s time for me to get back to my reading. After all, I’ve got quite a pile of books sitting across from me in my living room.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Library Loot: January 26 to February 2

  1. All three sound interesting, hopefully you get around to them and we get to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

