Library Loot: January 12 to 18

It all started with an innocent little detour to the public library. I told myself, “oh, they probably don’t have anything I would want to read. I’ll probably walk out empty-handed.” Ya right. 20 minutes later I was walking out the door with not one but four books. Despite my resolution to avoid grabbing library books and concentrate on the books in my personal library, instead I have added additional books to the ever-growing stack unread library books currently residing in the corner of my living room. Oh well, enough whining. Here’s the loot.

After recently finishing The First Christmas by Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan I was in the mood for another book by these two authors. I’m hoping The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church’s Conservative Icon will be the first of several books on the Apostle Paul I hope to feature on my blog.

I first saw Island of the Lost: Shipwrecked at the Edge of the World several years ago in the college bookstore across the street from my workplace. For whatever reason I’ve been intrigued by this tale of survival. When I saw it on the shelf at the library I quickly grabbed

Over the last few years I’ve enjoyed reading about the non-Arab Muslim world. I can’t remember where I first read about it, but I was happy to read that former New York Times bureau chief Stephen Kinzer had written a book called Reset: Iran, Turkey and America’s Future. Since I enjoyed his last book on Turkey I’m hoping I will like this book too.

I think I first read about American Theocracy: The Peril and Politics of Radical Religion, Oil and Borrowed Money in the 21st Century in an old catalog from the Quality Paperback Club. It, along with The Theocons: Secular America Under Siege and The Family: The Secret Fundamentalism at the Heart of American Power have been on my “to read” list for the last few years.

There we are, four promising books that I’ve added to that mountain of unread library books . I’m starting to think it will take a major miracle for me to get through all of these. Oh well, like I said in my earlier Library Loot posting, time for me to get reading.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Library Loot: January 12 to 18

  1. These do sound promising, well worth adding to the pile (after all, what’s lost in picking them up?). Reset looks particularly intriguing. Enjoy!

  2. I came across Island of the Lost when I was look for books for my nonfiction ocean creatures list. It didn’t quite fit, but looked fascinating. I hope you like it!

  3. I’ve already read The First Paul and rated it 9 of 10 in my review:
    http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/2009/09/first-paul-borg-and-crossan-2009.html

    And today I picked up The First Christmas because I’m almost finished reading Revelation of the Magi: The Lost Tale of the Wise Men’s Journey to Bethlehem by Brent Landau. If you haven’t heard of this last title, you should look into it. I think it would interest you.

    • Thanks for the link ! I’m about 50 pages into The First Paul and so far I’m enjoying it.
      I finished First Christmas and liked it too. Right now I’m reading The Nativity by Geza Vermes and it’s pretty good too.

  4. Four great books to pick up! I have American Theocracy on my tbr pile actually so am interested to hear your thoughts.

  5. Pingback: Spotlight on the Apostle Paul: Borg and Crossan | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

