The Best of 2010: Non-Fiction

After a great deal of hemming, hawing, weighing the alternatives and perhaps most of all procrastination, here is my list of the top ten non-fiction books I read in 2010. Since I read a number of excellent books last year creating a list of just ten is not an easy task. So, in no real order of preference, here is my list.

As hard as it might be to make a top ten list like the one above, it seems even harder to list a few honorable mentions. But if I could, I would probably consider Tim Harford’s The Logic of Life: The Rational Economics of an Irrational World, Robert Baer’s The Devil We Know: Dealing with the New Iranian Superpower, Ira Berlin’s The Making of African America: Four Great Migrations and Barrie Wilson’s How Jesus Became Christian.

Before I forget, there’s a few other books that for a variety of reasons I’d like to mention:

Well, for good, bad or otherwise there it is. Hopefully I will be back in a few days with a short list of the best fiction I read in 2010. Until then, stay literate my friends…

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The Best of 2010: Non-Fiction

  1. I’m really intrigued by Destiny Disrupted and The Media Relations Department of Hizbollah Wishes You a Happy Birthday so I’m glad to hear how much you enjoyed them both. Can’t wait to see the fiction list!

  2. Eva

    I’m now even MORE annoyed with my current library for not having Destiny Disrupted! It seems like they ignored my purchase request, so I’ll ILLit instead. 🙂 The only ones on your list that I’ve read are Dreams & Shadows and Memories of Muhammad, so I can’t wait to give some of the others a go!

  3. Ahh what a fantastic list of books that I want to go get asap. Must. Resist 🙂 I do want to read most of those at some point though. Glad you had such a fantastic reading year with a variety of books.

    • Thanks ! While I might not have thought so at the time, it looks like I did have a pretty good reading year. I’m working on a few challenges or similar projects to focus my reading on the books from my personal library. I’ve got a few ideas I’m kicking around. I will keep ya posted…

  4. Pingback: BANDing together to promote nonfiction: the discussion begins | Maphead's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: About Time I Read It: Stiff by Mary Roach | Maphead's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: 2012 In Review: My Favorite Nonfiction | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

