Library Loot: Jan. 5 – Jan. 11

I could have sworn that only a few days ago I vowed to break my nasty little habit of grabbing mountains of books from my public library. With a huge personal library of my own, it really doesn’t make a lot of sense to keep getting library books. Well, I thought I had this problem conquered. However, yesterday when I returned a few books to my local library I decided to look around inside. Come on, it will take only a few minutes, what’s the worst thing that could happen ? Next thing I knew, I was walking out the door with a small stack of books. Like a junkie crawling back to his dealer, I have no self-control. Anyway, enough of my personal short-comings, here’s the loot…

Currently I’m reading The First Christmas: What the Gospels Really Teach About Jesus’s Birth by Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan. In their 2007 book the authors spend a lot of time discussing the pagan, (aka non-Jewish) antecedents of Jesus as a Christ figure. Since I finding this discussion intellectually stimulating I’m hoping Harpur’s 2005 book The Pagan Christ: Recovering the Lost Light will continue that discussion.

N. T. Wright’s 1999 book The Challenge of Jesus: Rediscovering Who Jesus Was and Is should be a worthy “counter-point” to Harpur’s above mentioned book. Wright is a well-respected orthodox theologian and I eagerly look forward to reading his book.

Sometimes you pick up a book and it just feels good. Perhaps that’s how I felt when I grabbed Martin E. Marty’s 2004 Martin Luther from the Penguin Lives series. In 2011 I hope to read several somewhat exhaustive books dealing with the history of Christianity. I’m hoping this rather short book will compliment the tomes I will be reading throughout the year.

Bruce Bawer’s 2007 book While Europe Slept easily made my “Best Books Read” list for 2008. I found his writing direct and his arguments intelligently presented and persuasive. When I saw his latest book Surrender: Appeasing Islam, Sacrificing Freedom on the shelf needless to say I did not hesitate to grab it. Many of the reviews and comments I’ve read regarding Bawer’s newest book have been somewhat negative. After reading 20 pages of Surrender last night I’m temped to agree. But I will give Bawer’s book a chance.

Well folks there it is. I tried to restrain myself and look what happened. January isn’t even half over and I’ve already fallen off the wagon. I guess all I can do now is to start reading. So until next time, stay literate my friends…

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Library Loot: Jan. 5 – Jan. 11

  1. JoV

    Like a junkie crawling back to his dealer, I have no self-control.
    LOL 😀

    Map, I know how you feel. I feel like that most of the time. A book junkie.
    Interestingly, now that I have signed up for TBR challenge and I look at my book shelf and thought to myself that I actually have a lot of very good book sitting on my own shelf to last me this year, and the urge to loot from the library has subsided. Perhaps this remedy may help?

    if not someone need to invent a anti-reading patch, you know nicotine patch. That pumps in too much adrenaline in your body and you won’t stay still enough to read a book. LOL 😀

  2. I guess of all the wagons that you could fall off, this isn’t really a bad one.

  3. I agree with Heather that this isn’t really a bad wagon to fall off. Good list of books.

  4. I’m quite intrigued by the Martin Luther biography. I’ve really enjoyed the other books I’ve read in that series and am looking forward to reading more (but I’m a biography junky and condensing them down like that just lets me consume more!).

    Enjoy your loot!

    • I am too. I’ve read two others in the series-Augustine by Garry Wills and Buddha by Karen Armstrong. I’m hoping Marty’s biography will be a hit.
      Thanks for dropping by !

  5. Eva

    I don’t think it’s a nasty habit at all! Libraries need good circulation numbers to keep their funding up; you’re doing a public service. 😀

    The First Christmas sounds marvelous: I’m such a fan of Borg!

    • I agree ! It’s all for the public good !! Boost those circulation numbers !!!
      So far First Christmas has been pretty good. I hope to have it finished and reviewed within a week or so.

  6. The rule I have for my kids is that they can check out as many things as their age, which I figure is about as many as they can keep track of. This year I’m trying to hold myself to that rule as well, which has me counting the days till my birthday.

    Of course, only about 75% of the things I check out are for me, since I also check out stuff for the whole family. At least that’s my excuse for my frequent failures. Have fun reading.

    • Ha ha ! Love it ! I think my own mom might have had a similar policy while I was growing up.
      As you can tell by reading my blog, at the start of this year I really wanted to read my own books and not ones from the library. But as you can see I’m having NO luck doing so !! 🙂
      Glad you dropped by my blog ! Please do so anytime !

  7. Pingback: Gospel goodies: Tom Harpur comes up a bit short | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

