364 days and 70 books-all borrowed.

As we say so long to 2010 I thought I might post a brief year-end update regarding this year’s reading and blogging adventures. Since most, if not all of my entries tend to be reviews and the occasional “Library Loot” postings, it actually feels a bit odd writing something somewhat reflective. But every once in a while one must break with tradition. So, with all that in mind here’s a few thoughts as we look back on 2010 and look ahead to 2011.

In early 2010, almost by accident I stumbled upon WordPress. I had been book blogging on VOX for several years and by late 2009 it started to feel like VOX was dying a slow and painful death. Luckily, the same week I started looking at other blog services WordPress developed a feature which allowed VOX bloggers to import their blogs to WordPress. Just for the heck of it I did so and was considerably impressed with the end product. Moving from VOX to WordPress was like going from a small back and white TV set to a hi-def plasma model. From a blogging standpoint, I’ve never been happier.

Also in 2010 for the time ever, every book I read over the course of the year was borrowed. Two books were borrowed from co-workers and the other 68 books came from my public library. This undertaking would never have been possible if I had not been blessed with an outstanding public library system. My city of Portland, Oregon USA is home to the Multnomah County Library. With its downtown Portland Central Branch and 18 additional neighborhood libraries, I am never left in want of a quality book. (By the way, it looks like I’m not the only one in Portland who uses our library. According to a recent press release, “For the eighth year in a row, Multnomah County Library patrons have checked out and renewed more items than patrons of any other U.S. library serving fewer than one million residents”.  In addition, after crunching all the numbers “that’s an average of 31 items checked out or renewed for every man, woman and child in Multnomah County”).

Needless to say, in 2011 I think I’d like to read a few of my own books, not necessarily ones I’ve borrowed. Fortunately for me a have a sizeable personal library to draw upon. If possible, I’d also like to read older books, ones you might not hear about on NPR or written about in newspapers or the blogosphere, but have considerable merit and are worthy of being read. In this day and age I think of lot of quality books fall into obscurity. By reading older books, some of which have been out of print for years perhaps I can do honor to these forgotten gems.

Lastly by moving my blog to WordPress I have discovered an amazing community of vibrant and supportive book bloggers. If any of you reading this post are new to book blogging, I highly recommend that you explore the many book blogs found listed under the “Cool Book Blogs” column located on the right hand side of my blog. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

That’s enough for right now. I will be back later with my “Best of” list for 2010. Until then, have a happy 2011.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “364 days and 70 books-all borrowed.

  1. JoV

    Happy New Year to you too!! Happy that you move to WordPress, we sure need someone of your reading calibre to be part of this great community!! 🙂

  2. I’m glad you made the switch to WordPress as that was where I found you and you always review the most interesting books. So impressive that you borrowed every book that you read! As I think I’ve said a few times already, I am awful jealous of your library! Those are some seriously impressive stats that it has. All the best to you in 2011 with your goal of reading more of your own books 🙂

  3. Holy cow – living in the city of Powell’s and not buying one book! That’s probably the accomplishment of the year!!!

    • LOL ! Well, to be honest, I did buy a few books in 2011. But I still haven’t read them. I eagerly look forward to reading some of MY books this year !!
      By the way, I used to walk by Powell’s on my way to work. Once I stopped inside to get out of the rain and it cost me 40 dollars in books !!

  4. Happy new year ,I use my library loads as just can’t afford amount books I read new ,all the best stu

  5. Eva

    That’s awesome! I’d guess I’m at something like 90% borrowed, but moving made me read more of my own books than I otherwise would have. lol

    I’m glad you moved to WP!

Leave a Reply

