Jin blossoms.

A few weeks ago while walking back from a neighborhood street fair I decided to drop by my local public library and happened noticed in the fiction section a collection of short stories by the Chinese expat writer Ha Jin. While inspecting it,  I remembered reading a couple of his short stories in the New Yorker and being very impressed with his writing. So, despite having WAY too many library books in my “to read” pile I grabbed Ha’s book. After finishing it the other morning I’m very happy I did. Ocean of Words is a great collection of short stories.

Set during the early 1970’s along the Chinese-Russian border, the stories depict the lives of various People’s Liberation Army Soldiers as they deal with the challenges of everyday life: illicit love affairs, professional rivalries and small-minded superiors.  Against the backdrop of impending military conflict, the stories unfold as the specter of Chairman Mao rules from on high like some remote, inscrutable yet ubiquitous deity.

Ha’s writing, much like Hemingway’s is lean and direct.  His characters ranging from a temperamental Korean peasant to a captured Russian soldier to an elderly veteran of Mao’s Long March I found intriguing and complex. Their personalities in addition to the numerous plot twists concocted by Ha held my interest and made for enjoyable reading.

Someone once said the most beautiful music inhabits the space between the notes. In Ha’s world, if the geopolitical struggle between China and Russia is a symphony, then the real beauty can be found in the lives of everyday people caught between those notes.

7 Comments

Filed under Area Studies/International Relations, Fiction, History

7 responses to “Jin blossoms.

  1. JoV

    I’m not sure about the quote: the most beautiful music inhabits the space between the notes.

    The thing I used to get from the space between those notes was reprimands from my piano teacher!!! 😀

    but I do agree that the real beauty can be found in the lives of everyday people caught between those notes.

    I have been dying to read Ha Jin for a long time. Hope I have the chance to read his novels and this one soon!

    Thanks for recommending this one. I like to read stuff like this.

  2. This sounds really interesting. I just read John Vaillant’s The Tiger which is set near the China / Russia border on the other side and it sounds like a really interesting place. This is being added to my wish list!

  3. thanks for stopping by!
    i’ve just started to read more short story collections so i’m glad i ran across this one! i’m definitely adding this to my tbr pile. it sounds like something i would really enjoy.

  4. Eva

    I didn’t really enjoy Waiting, but I do try to give authors second chances, so maybe I’ll go for this. Or just read one of his stories on the New Yorker site, if it’s available. 🙂 Have you read Waiting?

Leave a Reply

