A used book sale at the church.

Over the years I’ve had great luck with used book sales held at churches and synagogues. So, last Saturday when I saw a “used book sale” sign at a nearby United Methodist Church I immediately stopped my car and ran over to see what kind of books were for sale. After first accidently stumbling into a Russian language religious service being held in the Church sanctuary, (and apologizing profusely using a mixture of simple English and broken Russian), I eventually located the sought after sale. I’m happy to say I wasn’t disappointed. As a matter of fact, I found several books I’ve been wanting to read for a long time. By now you’re probably wanting to know what I bought. Well, here are the books.

The Monster of Florence by Douglas Preston and Mario Spezi- This book created a lot of buzz when it was published a few years ago. I usually don’t go for the “true crime” kind of stuff, but this book is supposed to be excellent. I can’t wait to read it.

Reading Judas: The Gospel of Judas and the Shaping of Christianity by Elaine Pagels and Karen L. King- Is this some pop-culture, sensationalist theology paperback for the Da Vinci Code-loving masses ? Or is this a credible look at the early Christian Church ? Since I’ve had pretty good luck with the books of Elaine Pagels I will give it shot. Hopefully I wont be disappointed. Add one more to the World Religion Reading Challenge.

Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books by Azar Nafisi- Yes, all of you have probably read this but I haven’t. Oddly enough, this bestseller and book group favorite has escaped my clutches. Until now. Add yet another title to the Muslim Asia Reading Challenge.

The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl by Timothy Egan- Two friends of mine, including one who is a geology professor at my local state university, highly recommended this book. And since it’s a National Book Award winner, how could I go wrong ?

A Guide to Understanding the Bible: The Development of Ideas within the Old and New Testaments by Harry Emerson Fosdick- Originally published in 1938, my particular version is a first edition Harper Torch Book paperback published in 1956.  Add yet another one to my World Religion Reading Challenge.

Yep, just what I needed, more books. At least they’re all good. Plus they cost me next to nothing ! So keeping all that in mind, it’s time for me to get reading…

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A used book sale at the church.

  1. I hope Reading Judas is good! It is often hard to predict beforehand what books about early christianity are going to be like..

  2. All of those sound really great. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts. Monster of Florence sounds really interesting too. I enjoy the occasional true crime story, as long as it is done right.

  3. Reading Lolita in Tehran is one of my favorite books of all time. I just love the way English classics mean something very different when people in a different country read them. I hope you like it!

    • I feel like I’m the only one out there who has yet to read this book. Which is too bad ’cause I’ve heard a lot of good things about it.
      Oh well, since I now own a copy I have no excuse anymore !!

  4. Pingback: About Time I Read It: Timothy Egan’s The Worst Hard Time | Maphead's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: About Time I Read It: The Monster of Florence by Preston and Spezi | Maphead's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: My Recent Used Book Buying Binge | Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

