Library loot: Once again, it’s time to pillage.

The problem with returning books to the public library is you always run the risk of grabbing a few more after you’ve dropped off the stuff you’ve just finished. Heaven knows, I’m trying to exercise some restraint by not grabbing so many books from the library, but I’ve been incredible unsuccessful. While I should be blaming my lack of self-restraint, I prefer to lay the blame on my county’s excellent public library system. After all, if they didn’t stock all those wonderful book, I wouldn’t be in the terrible situation in the first place. Sound reasonable ? Anyway, without further ado, here are the fruits of my recent foray into the shelves of my public library.

Islam for the Western Mind: Understanding Muhammad and the Koran by Richard Henry Drummond-Yet another book for my World Religion Reading Challenge, this introductory text was written by a retired classicist and Presbyterian professor. I look forward to his perspective on the world of Islam.

Jesus and Yahweh: The Names Divine by Harold Bloom-Why not another book for my World Religion Reading Challenge ? The great Jewish intellectual Harold Bloom writing about Jesus and Yahweh-who could resist THAT ?!

World War One: A Short History by Norman Stone- After first seeing this book featured in the History Book Club I’ve been somewhat intrigued with this concise history of The Great War. I thought I would give it a chance.

1959: The Year Everything Changed by Fred Kaplan- With the season premier of AMC’s hit show Madmen airing tonight, perhaps I should move this promising book to the top of the reading list if I’m to finishing it before some other library patron wants to read it.

The Conscience of a Liberal by Paul Krugman- After reading Krugman’s columns in both my local newspaper and The New York Times for a number of years I thought I might give his 2007 book a shot.

Civilization and its Enemies: The Next Stage of History by Lee Harris- After reading a liberal’s book, why not one from a conservative ? I never could resist a thought-provoking interpretation of history. Besides that, I thought his later book Suicide of Reason was rather well-written.

Neither East Nor West: One Woman’s Journey through the Islamic Republic of Iran by Christiane Bird-  After reading Robin Wright’s superb book on the Middle East Dreams and Shadows, I’m in the mood for another book on that troubling, complex yet fascinating country. Plus I can add one more book to my Muslim Asia Reading Challenge.

In the Rose Garden of the Martyrs: A Memoir of Iran by Christopher de Bellaigue-Oh heck, while we’re at it, let’s add one more Iran book to the list. Since I rather liked the author’s 2007 book The Struggle For Iran, I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this one, too. So add it to the Challenge.

Well folks, that’s it for right now. Just how many of these books I’ll actually end up reading is anyone’s guess. So, until next time, stay literate my friends…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Library loot: Once again, it’s time to pillage.

  1. I think that is perfectly reasonable and it is a great idea to blame the library – which is really praise and the library should take it as such 🙂 A great list of books here and as always I’m looking forward to reading your reviews.

  2. JoV

    I blame my library too. But I’ll be blaming yours more if I live at where you live, because your library seems to stock more interesting books than mine does!

    Happy Reading. I got Reading Lolita in Tehran, but didn’t get the chance to read it yet!

Leave a Reply

