My latest book buying binge.

This might sound as a shock to some of you, but believe it or not, I haven’t bought any books for myself in over a year. Usually I’m content just to raid my public library, borrow from friends and co-workers or read something from my personal collection. Well, recently I decided to treat myself. After threatening to do so for months, I took advantage of Quality Paperback Club’s “buy two, get one free” offer and ordered a trio of promising books. And today, I’m happy to say a nice little package was waiting on my doorstep when I got home this afternoon.

One of the books in the recent shipment was Kevin Roose’s The Unlikely Disciple: A Sinner’s Semester at America’s Holiest University. It describes the adventures of a liberal-minded 19-year-old Brown University undergrad who goes undercover at the late Jerry Falwell’s Liberty University. Based on that premise alone the book sounds great.

Also in the shipment was Sharon Moalem’s How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel and Act the Way We Do. Moalem’s Survival of the Sickest was one of the best books I read last year. I’m hoping his newest book will be just as enjoyable. I’m also hoping it will make a nice follow-up to Mary Roach’s Bonk, which I hope to start reading within a few days.

Rounding out today’s shipment was a book I’ve been wanting to read ever since I saw it advertised in the Quality Paperback Catalog. I’m Perfect, You’re Doomed: Tales From a Jehovah’s Witness Upbringing by stand up comic and spoken word poet Kyria Abrahams hopefully will give me an insider’s look into the world of Jehovah’s Witnesses as well as her personal experiences with leaving that particular faith. Her book looks incredibly promising.

But wait, there’s more ! For about a year I’ve had a Barnes and Noble gift card that’s been slowly burning a hole in my back pocket. Well, this week I did a little shopping. On Tuesday I bought Robert Wright’s The Evolution of God. This book has been on the top of my “to read” list for about a year after I read an incredibly favorable review of Wright’s book in the New York Times. Once I heard the softcover edition was finally available I knew how I was going to use my Barnes and Noble gift card. In order to gain a deeper understanding of the ideas he presents in Evolution of God, I will probably start with his earlier book Nonzero: The Logic of Human Destiny. And as well I should since it’s been sitting unread on my shelf for about two years.

I’m thinking this recent acquisition of books should keep me busy for at least a little while. Plus, with the exception of Moalem’s How Sex Works, all of these books can be incorporated into my World Religion Reading Challenge. Sounds like fun, doesn’t it ? Perhaps I need to get reading….

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “My latest book buying binge.

  1. What an interesting assortment of books. So different from the books I have chosen to read in the next month and a half. i’ll be looking forward to your comments on these ones.

  2. Wow, that is such a great box of books. I’m jealous! I’ve heard lots of good things about Kevin Roose’s book.

  3. When I saw your post in my Google Reader I thought I could at least comment on you buying “The Unlikely Disciple” because I’ve heard so many good things about it. But when I subsequently read the post on your blog it turned out that I would actually love to read all of the books you have bought. I hope that they are as good as they sound!

  4. JoV

    I know how you feel about raiding (or I call it looting) the library and feel the need to go on a buying binge still, whether it’s from Amazon or bookstores….

    Clearly, Libraries encourage more book buying than reducing the need to buy books.

    You got some really heavy stuff in your reading list there. Rest assured I’m in good company with your blog on my google read. 😉

  5. Great selection of books! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on all of them.

Leave a Reply

