Let’s get medieval, baby.

    Over the last few days I’ve discovered a parallel universe of other book blogs. I always knew I was not the only one blogging away on books. But holy cow, there’s a lot of incredibly well done book blogs out there ! One of those blogs is Medieval Bookworm. The author of Medieval Bookworm is promoting a reading challenge in hopes of getting people to read more books related to the Middle Ages. The challenge will run from January 1st to December 31st, 2010, and will be hosted at Medieval Bookworm.
Challenge genres include history, medieval literature, and historical
fiction. Medieval, for simplicity of definition, will be from 500-1500
AD, and literature from all over the world is welcome, not just western
Europe. There are 3 levels:

  • Peasant – Read 3 medieval books of any kind.
  • Lord – Read 6 medieval books, at least one of each kind.
  • King– Read 9 medieval books, at least two of each kind.

 

I don’t know about you, but this challenge sounds like a lot of fun. Perhaps this is what I need to inspire me to finally read a few of those medieval history books that have been sitting unread on my shelves for way too long. I’m also planning to read a few books on Islamic philosophy, since this era was the “golden age” for that particular kind of stuff. Who know, I might read so many medieval related books I end up creating a whole new level. Forget “King”, I wanna be “Holy Roman Emperor“. Sign up here if you are interested in joining the challenge.

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under History

Leave a Reply

