Next up, a collection of conversations and a little philosophy.

Can't let the technical problems at Vox slow me down. Time to get posting. First up is John Hick's 1963 Philosophy of Religion

from the Foundations of Philosophy series. I actually purchased this
book years ago at the South Tillamook County Library Thrift Shop. Of
course like many of my books the thing sat unread in my library for a
number of years before I actually picked it up and started reading the
thing. As you might have guessed, it's pretty much just an introductory
work on the philosophy of religion. It would probably serve as an
adequate textbook at the college level. It might also serve as OK
follow-up read to some of the "New Atheists" like Harris and Dawkins
since Hick's book does look at the classic arguments for and against
the existence of God. Fortunately, this book was recently revised,
which is good because a lot of water has gone under the bridge since it
was written well over 40 years ago. Not sure I can recommend it, but I
am glad I read it.
    Next up would be Runo Isaksen's Literature and War: Conversations with Israeli and Palestinian Writers.
This was yet another one of those books I grabbed from the new books
shelf at my local library. Well, I'm glad I did. I expected all the
Israeli writers to be ultra-idealistic,/peace at any cost/pie in the
sky/way too liberal for their own collective good kind of lot. They
weren't. I also expected the Palestinian writers to be
uncompromising/death to Israel and the enemies of Islam/drive to Jews
into the sea kind of bunch. They weren't either. Every single writer
interviewed had valid and interesting things to say. Each one came off
as reasonable and with something to bring to the table. I've been
looking for a good Arab-Israeli anthology and I am happy to say that
Isaksen's collection of interviews would make a nice follow-up read to
something like, say The Israeli-Arab Reader. I highly recommend Isaksen's book.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under Area Studies/International Relations, Christianity, Islam

Leave a Reply

