And now for something completely different…..Part II

Holy cow- I'm reading more fiction. What is this world coming to ?? Fortunately both books were quite good. So good I that after reading them I really wished I would have read them right away instead of letting them sit unread on my library shelf for a few years.
    The first of the two books was Julius Winsome: A Novel. A co-worker gave me this book for my birthday a few years ago and it languished on
my library shelf forever. I finally picked it up this past weekend and
read it. Holy cow, if I would have known it was going to be this good I
would have read it the day I received it. Julius Winsome: A Novel is a fantastic book.
    
Written in a first person style somewhat reminiscent of Hemingway, it
tells the tale of bibliophile/hermit Julius Winsome and his twisted
quest to avenge the killing of his faithful dog Hobbes. This fast paced
novel is both touching and disturbing. I burned through this baby
enjoying it the whole time. One of the best works of fiction I have
read in a number of years. An Excellent book.
    Judy Fong Bates' 2005 novel Midnight at the Dragon Cafe
was my county library's 2007 selection for its Everybody Reads program.
It tells the story of a young Chinese immigrant girl's coming of age in
late 50's/early 60's small town Ontario, Canada. I was afraid her novel
was going to be sappy and sentimental. It was not. Lots of dirty little
family secrets and lots of loss. Needless to say, I liked it.
    After reading quality fiction like this it gets me inspired to read more. Who knows, in the future you might see


more fiction featured on this blog

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

