Before Plymouth Rock.

Tony Horwtiz's A Voyage Long and Strange: Rediscovering the New World

was one of those books I was about to buy until I found it in
the "new books" section of my local library. So, like the cheapskate that I am, I grabbed it and started reading the thing. And ya know, I'm glad I did.
    Horwitz, author of the
highly acclaimed Confederates in the Attic and Blue Latitudes
travels around North America and the Caribbean exploring the history of
those who visited the region before the Pilgrims' much celebrated
landfall of 1620. He takes on Vikings, Columbus, Conquistadors and the lost colony of Roanoke. He also spends time with an entire host of interesting and sometimes bizarre people including historical re-enactors, revisionists of all stripe, religious zealots, activists, historians and even Harvard Chaplain and author of The Good Book Peter Gomes.
   To me, Horwitz came
off as a kind of Bill Bryson with a bit more of an edge. In describing his travels in the Dominican Republic, he reminded me of P.J. O'Rourke in Holidays In Hell.
    To be honest, I did not think Horwitz's book was going to be so enjoyable, but it was. It was a great book and I highly recommend it.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

1 Comment

Filed under History

One response to “Before Plymouth Rock.

  1. Pingback: Holy Moses. « Maphead's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

