And now for something completely different.

Besides the lackluster writing and chaotic punctuation, you longtime readers of Maphead’s
book blog,(if there are any), have probably noticed something about this blog. I never read any fiction. Sad, but true. Well, this year is going to be different. I have resolved to read more fiction. Many of my friends read fiction and quite frankly, I’m started to feel a bit left out. Therefore in 2009, get ready for more fiction. Maybe not a lot, but more than I read last year or the year before.
I got things rolling with Ann Patchett’s 2001 novel Bel Canto. Inspired by a true story, in tells the tale of a group of international dignitaries and a beautiful opera singer held hostage by a group of rebels. The writing was tight and the characters interesting with their respective backstories nicely woven into the narrative. Despite the having a lousy ending that felt awkward and tacked on, it was a very enjoyable work of fiction.
The next book of fiction I read was 1999′ Pulitzer Prize winning collection of short stories Interpreter of Maladies
by Jhumpa Lahiri. Dealing with themes such as marital tension, (or the very least,
angst), cultural alienation and life in general in both American and Calcutta, her stories held my
interest. I found her writing style a bit on the subtle side, which
fortunately did not put me to sleep. In all, a worthy collection.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a Reply

