What is life ?

    Life, don't talk to me about life.
        -Marvin the Android from The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy

Finally finished What is Life:Investigating the Nature of Life in the Age of Synthetic Biology by Ed Regis.  After reading a short review of this 2008 book in the Christian Science Monitor Newspaper, it was intrigued by the book's premise and vowed to read it someday.
As luck would have it, I found a copy of it in the new books section of
my library. While I did enjoy much of this book, for the most part I
thought Regis could have done a better job by staying on task and not
spending so much time on side topics. Much of the book is devoted to
the history of genetics, which is interesting, but takes the reader
away from the main purpose of the book. In all, it was not a great book, but not a bad
one either. After reading What is Life, I think I would like to read such science classics as The Double Helix and Lives of a Cell:Notes of a Biology Watcher. Both books have been languishing unread on my bookshelf for far too long.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a comment

Filed under Science

Leave a Reply

